Burnside High School Zone Extended

Burnside High School zone has been extended beyond what it was in 2019 and 2020. It’s now set into Bishopdale and Papanui from the 2022 school year. The Ministry of Education will continue to monitor the roll at Papanui High School, and this overlap area would be one that the school’s zone could withdraw from in the future should they become at risk of overcrowding.

This comes as part of a seven-year project by local principals and boards of trustees to manage enrolments across the city. Seven schools – Burnside High, Hillmorton High, Mairehau High, Papanui High, Riccarton High School, Linwood College, and Haeata Community Campus will amend or implement their enrolment zones.

The four single-sex state high schools – Christchurch Girls’, Christchurch Boys’, Shirley Boys’, and Avonside Girls’ – will have “dual-layer” enrolment schemes where their zones overlap with that of a nearby co-educational school.

Click here to view interactive map of the new Burnside High Zone